Posted on

Greetings

Hello.

If you are visiting this blog  it is most likely by invitation. This has been set up as a way of keeping track of poetry and notes for what may well be my first collection called ‘Xtraordinary’.  This is planned to be a collection of  poems in the realm of subjects typically dealt with in the world of comic books and graphic novels. Poetry about super powers (heroes and villains), science fiction, fantasy, horror, and just all around odd happenings (real or imagined). I don’t have a blueprint, and I’m just getting started on it,  but that’s what this blog is for: notes and such. I wanted a safe and secure way of storing this data that could be easy to access, adjust, and share as I am not sure that this has been done before. I do know that some of the associations in this poetry will be loose and/or abstract.  I also want some of the poems to reflect the fantastical perception of normal events in the eyes of an overactive imagination. I’d like to deal with some of the subject matter in a subtle or gentle fashion at times to keep the work more on the accessible side. I’d like for a larger amount of people to extract meaning and relevancy than most of the sci-fi poetry I’ve read; and to leave some of the more super power leaning work able to be enjoyed by those left underexposed to the magic of comic books.

I  welcome all comments and criticism for these works in progress and may just post them in their final (ish) drafts for public consumption.

Thanks for participating.

HINES.

About HINES

Musician, actor, poet, father, reader, human, alien, otherworldly spirit...Derrick J. Hines is and will continue to be until nothing is.

Comments, criticisms, suggestions, blessings, and/or curses...

