Posted on

Maker Mark

 

Begging puppy, for

undying passionate urge,

inviting me in

is boiling until melting

but never melding into.

 

Moon, I wax and wane.

Sun, you rise and set me down

with sacrificial

veins full of unfulfilled light

pawing at the dark for change.

 

You offer too much

inviting me here to dine.

This life you’d die for,

I try to extinguish with

sunglasses and long clothing.

 

This sleep I wake for

is liquid brick, blender pulsed;

is conflagration,

a black death life can’t forget;

the pale life death cannot keep.

About HINES

Musician, actor, poet, father, reader, human, alien, otherworldly spirit...Derrick J. Hines is and will continue to be until nothing is.

2 responses to “Maker Mark

  1. “Sun, you rise and set me down with sacrificial veins full of unfulfilled light pawing at the dark for change”

    This is one of the best lines I’ve ever read – maybe the best. I could meditate on it for hours.

    Your work is amazing – deep, rich and satisfying the human need to scream and sigh from crazy to content all in one beautiful, mesmerizing poem.

Comments, criticisms, suggestions, blessings, and/or curses...

