Posted on

I Like To Play

Image

Rhythm is

building block; is Lincoln Log/Lego not

limited by size or shape.

I am child.

Rhythm is

Jenga, stacked and played;

is climbing and toppling, clown

atop clown atop unicycle.

I am tickled.

Rhythm is

transport beam; is crew of

Enterprise, molecules dispersed

and scattered, collected and recombined,

landing- whole- in new location.

I am ever amazed.

Rhythm is

candy. I am Halloween

(giving freely) and

standing at the door

eager to receive.

 

Thanks to Ami Mattison for the prompt. Visit http://dversepoets.com/ and join in on the most happening of happenings (seriously, do it).

About HINES

Musician, actor, poet, father, reader, human, alien, otherworldly spirit...Derrick J. Hines is and will continue to be until nothing is.

7 responses to “I Like To Play

  1. hehe you got rhythm…nice hit on star trek too…as cool as it might be, i’d be scared i might be missing parts when i got there you know…smiles…love that line at the end on being haloween as well…

    • HINES

      Thanks Brian. You, sir, rock (hard).
      Yeah, I’ve always been wary of being beamed up (or down, or anywhere) for that same reason. Maybe I’ve watched too many versions of The Fly.

  2. Oh yeah – this rocks – I’d love to hear it out loud … maybe teleportation is like parallel-universing (!?!) and you’d be just the same only somewhere else … it could happen (as the great Judy Tanuta used to say …)

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.com/2012/03/vignettes-from-bin.html

  3. Claudia

    very cool…def. rhythm in your words…i like the playfulness and the molecules dispersed and scattered, collected and recombined..just gives a crazy freedom..i like

  4. This is so sweetly playful–I love the emphasis on that – of literally playing while playing–the legos, the Enterprise molecules, the halloween candy, the call and response. I’m sure it would read well too. K.

  5. Now I’m tickled too! Kinda apropos, as I just used “samba” in a poem two minutes ago and was asked if Samba drums could play outside my store tonight. Hell yes! they can. 🙂

  6. Good job Hines! Feel the rhythm and feel the creativity of this poem!

Comments, criticisms, suggestions, blessings, and/or curses...

